Infertility, Rising Strong
Leave a Comment

The Magic of a New Year

As another year comes to a close, 2017 definitely stands out as a year to remember. Here a just a few of my reflections.

The year started out with the election of Donald Trump as the 45th president of the United States, and the Twittersphere hasn’t been the same since.  We have made great strides as a nation; however, our political and social divide remains. This year, as emotions ran high, violent protests were held, historical statues were taken down and NFL players decided to take a knee during the National Anthem. We still have a lot of work to do.

We witnessed terrorist attacks and mass shootings in New York City, Las Vegas, Sutherland Springs and across the globe. Buried in the headlines of these horrific events, we can also find stories of great courage, healing and hope for humanity.

For the first time in 100 years, we experienced a total solar eclipse. In a face palm moment, it was also reported that some people put sunscreen on their eyes to watch the eclipse!

A devastating hurricane season brought us Harvey and as the flood waters began to rise, Houstonian’s rose to the occasion, showing the world the strength and heroism of our local community. It really is incredible to see how much we can accomplish when we work together. We saw the amazing JJ Watt raise $37 million dollars in relief funds in just a few weeks. And then, there’s our beloved Mattress Mack, a man who in my book, wins the best human of the year award. #HoustonStrong

Reeling from the aftermath of Harvey, baseball fans enthusiastically rallied around our hometown team the Houston Astros. They continued to wow fans and deliver win after win, going on to #MakeHistory by winning the World Series!

On the home and career front, the year started out with its fair share of stress and busyness. I’ve always felt it’s so important to make time to take a break from it all. Our annual trip to Miami and a return visit to Las Vegas in almost 15 years were just what we needed to relax and reconnect. I never take vacations for granted and I always feel a great sense of gratitude. Each trip creates unique and lasting memories.  I often experience “God moments”, whether I’m enjoying a quiet sunset over the ocean or surrounded by a lively crowd listening to my favorite music. #Gratitude

I said, “Au Revoir” to one of my best friends as she and her family embarked on a new journey by moving to France. I miss her dearly but thanks to social media and technology we are staying connected!

By mid-year, a not so chance encounter provided an opportunity for a job change, for which I am truly grateful. I am back in a place of work-life balance, which is a (really) good place for me.

This new head space has allowed me to reflect and seek out new ways to improve my personal development while connecting with others. I haven’t blogged since chronicling our infertility journey and I miss writing. There is something very therapeutic and a bit scary about putting your thoughts on paper and sharing them with the world. #Vulnerability

I’m excited to have recently discovered the work of University of Houston research professor and storyteller Brené Brown and downloaded my first Audible book, “Rising Strong: The Reckoning. The Rumble. The Revolution.” If there was ever a book that spoke to me so strongly, this is it. This is some heavy stuff but I can say with certainty, it has come to me at just the right time.

As this new year begins, my mind and heart is open to a new path of healing by reckoning with the painful scars that infertility has left behind. I am rumbling through the middle of the messy (which is where the magic happens), to come out on the other side, wiser, braver and stronger than before. #RisingStrong

Wishing you all a New Year filled with good health, joy and peace.

 

Leave a comment